- Poverty >> Compassion International - http://blog.compassion.com -

Famous Inspirational Quotes

Posted By Brianne McKoy On November 10, 2008 @ 1:43 am In Employees and Culture | 17 Comments

“You’re a little mover and a shaker. You’re going to change the world.”

Ok, I am not sure why I am tearing up as I write that sentence, but I am. It’s just me, I’m emotional.

I heard that phrase from my mom for over 23 years. I heard it on my first day of school, my first presentation, my first test, mission trip, job, my first “what am I doing with my life” crisis . . . anytime anything robbed my hope and joy my parents were there with that phrase.

So now I am a bit older (but just a bit [3]) and I have these little phrases I repeat over and over in my head. They help me through my job, they remind me of my worth, they remind me of His love.

Words can transcend time and history. They can resound within our heart for years. That’s what words do: they impact a person . . . a child.

So in celebration of words, and the message given to us in the Word, below are two famous quotes.

I want to know what resonates with you. Which one inspires you most and why?

Mother Teresa, Roman Catholic nun
“The hunger for love is much more difficult to remove than the hunger for bread.”

Princess Diana, Princess of Wales
“You can’t comfort the afflicted without afflicting the comfortable.”

Which one makes you want to become a mover and a shaker?


Article printed from Poverty >> Compassion International: http://blog.compassion.com

URL to article: http://blog.compassion.com/famous-inspirational-quotes/

URLs in this post:

[1] subscribe to our blog: http://feeds.feedburner.com/CompassionBlogPosts

[2] Brianne McKoy: http://blog.compassion.com" rel=

[3] but just a bit: http://blog.compassion.com/happy-birthday-and-congratulations/

[4] A Life Inspired by the “Lutheran Ladies”: http://blog.compassion.com/a-life-inspired-by-the-lutheran-ladies/

[5] A Holy Job Description: http://blog.compassion.com/a-holy-job-description/

[6] Does This One Come in Blonde?: http://blog.compassion.com/does-this-one-come-in-blonde/

[7] The Power of a Mother’s Positive Influence: http://blog.compassion.com/the-power-of-a-mothers-positive-influence/

[8] Reflections of a Compassion Traveller – Day Three: http://blog.compassion.com/reflections-of-a-compassion-traveller-day-three/

[9] Tell Us Your Story!: http://blog.compassion.com/share-your-story/

Copyright © 2010 Christian Blog on Child Poverty. All rights reserved.