- Poverty >> Compassion International - http://blog.compassion.com -

Four Questions God Asks Us

Posted By Web Team On June 14, 2012 @ 12:10 am In Employees and Culture | 2 Comments

how to trust god Charles Blondin was a 19th-century acrobat famed for heart-stopping stunts. He was known for crossing Niagara Falls on a tightrope, 335 meters long, 50 meters above the water. He accomplished this first on June 30, 1859.

He did it a number of times in a number of different ways: blindfolded, in a sack, pushing a wheelbarrow, on stilts, even carrying his manager on his back.

One day he asked one of the spectators, “Do you think I can take a man across?” The spectator agreed, but he and several others wouldn’t dare entrust their lives into the hands of this proven acrobat.

This example helps us think about how much we trust Christ as we walk with Him and serve in this ministry. Today, a proven and trustworthy God is asking us four questions from Proverbs 3:5–6:

  1. Will you get into my wheelbarrow? (“Trust in the LORD with all your heart.”)
  2. Will you ensure that you don’t get out and try to push it by yourself? (“And lean not on your own understanding.”)
  3. Will you make sure you are fully in? (“In all your ways submit to Him.”)
  4. Will you be ready to go where and how I take you? (“And he will make your paths straight.”)

This ministry is God’s business. We can trust that He knows what, how, and when to do what needs to be done to get across the “falls” — even on a tight rope — toward the fulfillment of our mission and vision.

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. —Proverbs 3:5–6, NIV

Prayer: Dear God, we pray that we will not lean on our own understanding as we do Your work, but that we will trust in You with all our heart and submit to You in all our ways. Amen.


[3]

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Samuel Wambugu works as a Partnership Facilitator for Compassion Kenya.

Read all the One in Spirit [3] devotionals.


Article printed from Poverty >> Compassion International: http://blog.compassion.com

URL to article: http://blog.compassion.com/how-to-trust-god-four-questions-god-asks-us/

URLs in this post:

[1] subscribe to our blog: http://feeds.feedburner.com/CompassionBlogPosts

[2] Web Team: https://plus.google.com/+compassioninternational

[3] Image: http://blog.compassion.com/one-in-spirit

[4] Do I Really Trust?: http://blog.compassion.com/do-i-really-trust/

[5] Combat Boots: http://blog.compassion.com/combat-boots/

[6] Mighty Warriors: http://blog.compassion.com/mighty-warriors/

[7] Faith Test: http://blog.compassion.com/faith-test/

[8] The Gate to Answered Prayer: http://blog.compassion.com/the-gate-to-answered-prayer/

[9] Six Reasons We Can Trust God: http://blog.compassion.com/dependence-on-god-six-reasons-we-can-trust-god/

Copyright © 2010 Christian Blog on Child Poverty. All rights reserved.