- Poverty >> Compassion International - http://blog.compassion.com -

New Fall Fashion

Posted By Amber Van Schooneveld On October 24, 2008 @ 1:55 am In Children in Poverty,Employees and Culture | 11 Comments

It’s fall here in Colorado. The time when the trees and wildflowers turn vibrant yellow and red. The time of brisk blue skies and chilly nights and warm sweaters. The time when I stand in front of my closet and complain, much like a 14-year-old, “I have nothing to wear!”

Recently, I had a chance for a new perspective. Two of my coworkers here at Compassion (one of them being the lovely Becky Tschamler [3]), and I decided to form a wardrobe co-op. Once a month, we get together and swap our clothes, quenching our thirst for new clothes, our own little Sisterhood of Traveling Pants, if you will. Monday was our second swap.Katy, Becky and Amber

What an eye-opener to have friends see your possessions, which you had been suspiciously eying and disapproving, and proclaim how nice they are and how they’d love to borrow them. It left me feeling a bit silly and quite grateful for what I realize I’ve received. If my fellow coworkers think my wardrobe is nice, what would, say, a worker at a Compassion child development center think of it? 

What about you?

You might think shoes and belts are silly, but what’s “your thing” that you sometimes feel a bit deficient in?

  • Your car? 
  • Your home? 
  • Your kitchen? 
  • Your movie collection? 
  • Your out-of-date TV?

Look at it through someone else’s eyes. Through your sponsored child’s eyes. How would they see it?

When I look at my life through someone else’s perspective, a child, a person from another country…and especially God, I realize just how blessed I am and just how much I can bless others. Instead of clamoring for more, more, more, I can be content and focus on what I can do for others. Thank you, God. 


Article printed from Poverty >> Compassion International: http://blog.compassion.com

URL to article: http://blog.compassion.com/new-fall-fashion/

URLs in this post:

[1] subscribe to our blog: http://feeds.feedburner.com/CompassionBlogPosts

[2] Amber Van Schooneveld: https://plus.google.com/116586360569835548943/

[3] Becky Tschamler: http://blog.compassion.com/author/beckytschamler/

[4] Your Sponsored Child’s Most Prized Possession: http://blog.compassion.com/most-prized-possession/

[5] A Big-picture Perspective: http://blog.compassion.com/big-picture-perspective/

[6] One Man’s Crawl Space, Another Man’s Castle: http://blog.compassion.com/one-mans-crawl-space-another-mans-castle/

[7] My Best Day in Ministry: A Changed Perspective: http://blog.compassion.com/changed-perspective-my-best-day-in-ministry/

[8] What Limits Your Perspective?: http://blog.compassion.com/what-limits-your-perspective/

[9] Sardines or Lessons From the Field: http://blog.compassion.com/sardines-or-lessons-from-the-field/

Copyright © 2010 Christian Blog on Child Poverty. All rights reserved.