- Poverty >> Compassion International - http://blog.compassion.com -

Should I Visit My Sponsored Child?

Posted By Web Team On August 4, 2008 @ 1:01 am In For New Sponsors,Sponsors and Donors | 391 Comments

Sponsor tour Sponsor tours usually cost from $2,000 to $4,000, plus airfare to the departure city.

  • Is that the best use of your money?
  • What is the benefit to your child — to children in poverty?
  • Would it be better to use that money to:
    • send a family gift
    • sponsor another child
    • donate to the Global Food Crisis fund?

When we published our first Ask the Field post, one of the questions we received was:

Is the benefit to the child and sponsor worth the cost of a visit to Uganda? I would love to visit my three sponsored girls, but I hesitate to spend a considerable amount of money for “my dream” when the money could be used to sponsor additional children or ministries. I think I would feel guilty. What are your thoughts? –Shelly Quigg

We thought it would be better to have a discussion on this, to hear more than one person’s opinion, rather than just include it as one question in an entire 10 questions post.

What’s your answer? How should Shelly spend her money?


Article printed from Poverty >> Compassion International: http://blog.compassion.com

URL to article: http://blog.compassion.com/sponsor/

URLs in this post:

[1] subscribe to our blog: http://feeds.feedburner.com/CompassionBlogPosts

[2] Web Team: https://plus.google.com/+compassioninternational

[3] What Is It Like to Meet Your Sponsored Child for the First Time?: http://blog.compassion.com/whats-it-like-to-meet-your-sponsored-child-for-the-first-time/

[4] The Happiest Day of a Sponsored Child’s Life: http://blog.compassion.com/the-happiest-day-of-my-life/

[5] A Field Perspective on Sponsor Tours: http://blog.compassion.com/a-field-perspective-on-sponsor-tours/

[6] Made for Each Other: http://blog.compassion.com/made-for-each-other/

[7] On My Sponsor Tour: http://blog.compassion.com/on-my-sponsor-tour/

[8] My Best Day in Ministry Was On a Sponsor Tour: http://blog.compassion.com/sponsor-tour-my-best-day-in-ministry/

Copyright © 2010 Christian Blog on Child Poverty. All rights reserved.