- Poverty >> Compassion International - http://blog.compassion.com -

A Candle in the Darkness

Posted By Web Team On May 7, 2010 @ 9:54 am In Employees and Culture,In the News | 52 Comments

wess stafford This month’s Christianity Today cover story is Wess telling his story of childhood abuse and deliverance in a West Africa boarding school.

The houseparent had marched me to the school’s dining hall, dragged a metal chair across the concrete floor, and slammed it down in front of my schoolmates. He threw me up on the chair and jammed the candle in my hand.

“Children,” he said, “you cannot serve both God and Satan. Wesley has tried. You cannot burn a candle at both ends without getting burned. Watch what happens when you try.”

Read the entire article [3] at Christianity Today.

After you read the article, come back and let us know what you think. Leave a comment and you’ll be entered to win a copy of Wess’ book, Too Small to Ignore [4].

We’ll randomly pick a winner on Monday.


Article printed from Poverty >> Compassion International: http://blog.compassion.com

URL to article: http://blog.compassion.com/wess-stafford-christianity-today/

URLs in this post:

[1] subscribe to our blog: http://feeds.feedburner.com/CompassionBlogPosts

[2] Web Team: https://plus.google.com/+compassioninternational

[3] Read the entire article: http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2010/may/9.23.html

[4] Too Small to Ignore: http://toosmalltoignore.com/

[5] A Holy Job Description: http://blog.compassion.com/a-holy-job-description/

[6] Divine Appointments: http://blog.compassion.com/divine-appointments/

[7] Wess Speaks (Part II): http://blog.compassion.com/wess-speaks-part-ii/

[8] Too Small To Ignore: http://blog.compassion.com/too-small-to-ignore/

[9] A Culture of Bride Abduction: http://blog.compassion.com/culture-bride-abduction/

[10] The Voice: http://blog.compassion.com/voice-for-children-the-voice/

Copyright © 2010 Christian Blog on Child Poverty. All rights reserved.